Appointments and Promotions Committees

The Appointments and Promotions Committees in H&S are among the most important committees in the School. Each Senior Associate Dean appoints a cluster Appointments and Promotions Committee, comprised of six faculty members from the academic cluster. Each cluster-based A&P Committee considers every case for tenure (both internal promotions and new tenured appointments), as well as continuing term appointments in the non-tenure line and for Senior Lecturers. The task for the A&P Committees, and that of the H&S deans, is to apply the established criteria outlined in the University's and the H&S Faculty Handbook, together with their best judgments, to reach decisions about the cases before them.For further information about the A&P Committees, contact Sohaila Tofig, Faculty Affairs Officer, by email at or by phone at (650) 724-8928.

2020-21 Appointments & Promotions Committee Rosters

Humanities and Arts
(convened and chaired by R. Lanier Anderson)

Roland Greene, Director, Stanford Humanities Center
Paul Harrison, Chair, Religious Studies
Krista Lawlor, Chair, Philosophy
Alexander Nemerov, Chair, Art and Art History
Blakey Vermeule, Chair, English
Caroline Winterer, Chair, History

Natural Sciences
(convened and chaired by Peter Michelson)

Steve Boxer, Chair, Chemistry
Martha Cyert, Chair, Biology
Martin Fejer, Chair, Applied Physics
Rafe Mazzeo, Chair, Mathematics
Shamit Kachru, Chair, Physics
Art Owen, Chair, Statistics

Social Sciences
(convened and chaired by Ran Abramitzky)

Douglas Bernheim, Chair, Economics
James Hamilton, Chair, Communication
Thomas Hansen, Chair, Anthropology
Michael Rosenfeld, Chair, Sociology
Mike Tomz, Chair, Political Science
Anthony Wagner, Chair, Psychology

Click here for a list of past members

University Advisory Board

The University Advisory Board, an elected body of the Academic Council, reviews all recommendations for appointments, promotions, reappointments and dismissals, and for proposals for the creation and dissolution of departments. A detailed description of the role of the Advisory Board is provided in Chapter VI of the Articles of Organization of the Academic Council. The 2020/21 Advisory Board members on the H&S faculty are:

Zephyr Frank (History)
Elizabeth Hadly (Biology)
David Palumbo-Liu (DLCL)

H&S Faculty Affairs staff site

To get access, or to report login issues, please contact Connor Crutcher.

Login to see all content