Appointments and Promotions Committees

The Appointments and Promotions Committees in H&S are among the most important committees in the School. Each Senior Associate Dean appoints a cluster Appointments and Promotions Committee comprised of six senior faculty members. Each cluster-based A&P Committee considers every case for tenure (both internal promotions and new tenured appointments), as well as continuing term appointments in the non-tenure line and for Senior Lecturers. The task for the A&P Committees, and that of the H&S deans, is to apply the established criteria outlined in the University's and the H&S Faculty Handbook, together with their best judgments, to reach decisions about the cases before them.For further information about the A&P Committees, contact Ray Kania, Faculty Affairs Officer, by email at rkania [at]

2021-22 Appointments & Promotions Committee Rosters

Humanities and Arts
(convened and chaired by Gabriella Safran)

Roland Greene, Director, Stanford Humanities Center
Paul Harrison, Chair, Religious Studies
Chris Potts, Chair, Linguistics,
Ato Quayson, Chair, English
Caroline Winterer, Chair, History
Jaroslaw Kapuscinski, Chair, Music

Natural Sciences
(convened and chaired by Peter Michelson)

Steve Boxer, Chair, Chemistry
Martha Cyert, Chair, Biology
Martin Fejer, Chair, Applied Physics
Rafe Mazzeo, Chair, Mathematics
Giorgio Gratta, Chair, Physics
Jonathan Taylor, Chair, Statistics

Social Sciences
(convened and chaired by Ran Abramitzky)

Matthew Jackson, Chair, Economics
James Hamilton, Chair, Communication
Thomas Hansen, Chair, Anthropology
Jeremy Freese, Chair, Sociology
Mike Tomz, Chair, Political Science
Kalanit Grill-Spector, Chair, Psychology

Click here for a list of past members

University Advisory Board

The University Advisory Board, an elected body of the Academic Council, reviews all recommendations for appointments, promotions, reappointments and dismissals, and for proposals for the creation and dissolution of departments. A detailed description of the role of the Advisory Board is provided in Chapter VI of the Articles of Organization of the Academic Council. The 2021–21 Advisory Board members on the H&S faculty are:

Zephyr Frank (History)
Elizabeth Hadly (Biology)
Ian Johnstone (Statistics)
David Palumbo-Liu (DLCL)

H&S Faculty Affairs staff site

To get access, or to report login issues, please contact rkania [at] (Ray Kania).

Login to see all content