Faculty Committees

Appointments and Promotions Committees

The Appointments and Promotions Committees in H&S are among the most important committees in the School. Each Senior Associate Dean appoints a cluster Appointments and Promotions Committee, comprised of six faculty members from the academic cluster. Each cluster-based A&P Committee considers every case for tenure (both internal promotions and new tenured appointments), as well as continuing term appointments in the non-tenure line and for Senior Lecturers. The task for the A&P Committees, and that of the H&S deans, is to apply the established criteria outlined in the University's and the H&S Faculty Handbook, together with their best judgments, to reach decisions about the cases before them.For further information about the A&P Committees, contact Sohaila Tofig, Faculty Affairs Officer, by email at sohaila@stanford.edu or by phone at (650) 724-8928.
2013/14 Appointments & Promotions Committee Rosters
Humanities (convened and chaired by Debra Satz)
Paul Harrison, Chair, Religious Studies
Gavin Jones, Chair, English
Gabriella Safran, Director, DLCL
Walter Scheidel, Chair, Classics (Winter/Spring)
Nancy Troy, Chair, Art and Art History
Tom Wasow, Chair, Linguistics (Autumn)
Kären Wigen, Chair, History

Natural Sciences (convened and chaired by Ralph Cohen)
Hideo Mabuchi, Chair, Applied Physics
Peter Michelson, Chair, Physics
W.E. Moerner, Chair, Chemistry
Robert Simoni, Chair, Biology
Guenther Walther, Chair, Statistics
Brian White, Chair, Mathematics

Social Sciences (convened and chaired by Ellen Markman)
James Fishkin, Chair, Communication
Judy Goldstein, Chair, Political Science
Ian Gotlib, Chair, Psychology
Mark Granovetter, Chair, Sociology
Jonathan Levin, Chair, Economics
Sylvia Yanagisako, Chair, Anthropology
For a list of past members, click here
University Advisory Board
The University Advisory Board, an elected body of the Academic Council, reviews all recommendations for appointments, promotions, reappointments and dismissals, and for proposals for the creation and dissolution of departments. A detailed description of the role of the Advisory Board is provided in Chapter VI of the Articles of Organization of the Academic Council. The 2013-14 Advisory Board members on the H&S faculty are:
Stephen Hinton (Music)
Sharon Long (Biology)
Cecilia Ridgeway (Sociology)